Man drawing at a desk
Event Information
Eternal Spring
Streaming on Hot Docs at Home
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 9:00 AM
After meeting a survivor of an activist group that boldly hacked Chinese state television to protest human rights violations, exiled illustrator Daxiong recreates the events through his art and thrillingly captures the inspiring tale of defiance in the face of injustice.
Event Pricing
Tickets Ticket - $16.81

Are you an Hot Docs Member, ticket package holder or Doc Soup Subscriber ?

Ticket Selection
Ticket Availability

Closed Captions Icon Open Cations Icon  Showing with closed or open captions

Winner - Rogers Audience Award for Best Canadian Feature
Winner - Hot Docs Audience Award

After facing human rights violations and condemnations of their banned faith, a daring group of Chinese activists embarked on a risky plan to take over a state television station and finally control the media's message. Daxiong, an illustrator who participated in the rebellion, was forced to flee in the wake of police raids in Changchun city. After relocating to North America, he established himself as an acclaimed comic artist (Justice League, Star Wars), but the events leading to his exile remain a vivid memory. Two decades later, Daxiong's recollection of events is challenged by the other surviving activist who managed to escape China. Their first-person accounts, detailed in animated re-enactments, highlight Daxiong's incredible artistry and allow viewers to fully comprehend the courage and sacrifice it took to protect the right to their faith and counter the political propaganda that is still a threat to freedom. Alexander Rogalski

Film Info
Country Listing:Canada
Premiere Status:North American Premiere
Landing Page:
Festival Info
Festival Year:2022
Language:Mandarin Chinese
Accessibility:Closed Captions
Open Captions
Full Subtitles
Program Category:Canadian Spectrum
Film Subjects:Activism
Asian Cultures & Issues
Visual Art & Artists
Cast/Crew Info
Director(s):Jason Loftus
Producer(s):Jason Loftus
Masha Loftus
Yvan Pinard
Kevin Koo
Writer(s):Jason Loftus
Editor(s):David Schmidt
Cinematography:John Tran
Composer:Thomas William Hill
Sound:Bret Killoran
Erik Lork
Animation:Alex Smith
Matthew Sousa
Animation Director:David St-Amant